What Am I Doing? Am I Doing Me Right Now Man?

Somehow, I get the feeling that maybe teaching isn’t for me. It’s a very safe job, and just the thought of a school system draining me is really bothering me. I think I need to figure this out quick. I’m actually ok with being an English major, but the thoughts of having to deal with a school system bothers me. I’ve been hearing a lot of terrible things about the Department of Education and the way the school systems are now run, and I really don’t want any part of it.

I really love children and young people. I know that I could be a great teacher. The problem is, the thought of having my tenure given to me based off of a portfolio submitted every year to a superintendent, or controlling principals that micro manage or even the UFT taking dues but not fullfilling their obligations to me would trip me out. I love kids, but I hate quitting, and I know I would be the one to sue the city, or Bloomberg if God forbid, he/they messed with my money!

I think what I need to do is minor in music or even theatre or journalism. Check out this career/major test I took this morning on http://www.about.com.

You are the Artistic Personality Type!

Artistic people like to live by their own rules–or no rules at all. They are creative and enjoy working with words or with color. They may be good at drawing, writing, playing music, or telling stories.

Artistic people are intuitive and often know what others are up to. They don’t have dozens of friends, but they have a few very close friends. They don’t like to work in very strict environments. Instead, they prefer to hear about new ideas and try out new things.

Possible degree programs: Art, Music, Writing Literature, Drama, History, Interior Decorating Fashion Design, Public Relations, Philosophy,
Journalism, Graphic Design.

That’s me alright! Ha!

Carmen xoxo

Leave a Reply

