I Knew It!

Am I too candid? Maybe I am, but my honesty makes me real. This isn’t a fairytale or some make believe story. This is the life of Carmen! It’s real, and if you read my blogs on a regular basis, you’re totally tuned in and you can understand me.

This morning, my ex called. He’s been calling consistently, but I hadn’t heard anything in the past 2 days, so I assumed that he got the hint. Apparently not. Someone didn’t send him the memo that I wasn’t taking him into 2011. He’s more done than a burned burger! Ha! Oh well, on to more exciting news!

I spoke briefly with my Pastor yesterday about the direction and vision I have for the praise and worship team at my home church. As the leader, I want this year to be so different from any other year. I want to move forward and higher, like an aeroplane. I’m excited, ecstatic, all the E’s. I forsee good things, big things happening. I even brought up my ministry vision to him. He told me that he wanted to follow through on an offer he had to bring a crusade to Trinidad! I was beyond thrilled. My only thing is that now, I have to get a team of singers and spiritual leaders together. Interesting.

Well, I’m not worried, but I do feel this sense of urgency. I feel like every second counts. I read an email my friend sent me yesterday, and it was along the same lines of what my prayers have been focused on lately. I want to utilize my time, in the present moment better (hence the reason I am currently writing my blogs while riding the subway to and from work). I want to utilize all the moments that I am awake, to do things in my life I thought impossible. With God, all things are possible. Anyway, I digress. The email focused on the importance of time, namely, every second. All time adds up to eventually become years, and years become decades, and by the time we look around, we’re all grown up. What God has ben showing me is that we can’t get that time back. We forget that just ten years ago, we were whatever age we were, and that that time is now called the past. Once it is gone, and the moment is passed, it is gone FOREVER. There is no time machine.

At first I cried when I spoke to God about this thought He was showing me. I was so scared! All that time gone! I can’t be 14 again! Then He showed me that I was in a moment, and I was creating that moment right there! I was still being bleesed with life, while many others had passed on in slumber, or violent death, or even of natural causes. I had life and I had a future. I could make the best of the moment and change the nature of my past by creating a brighter future and living in the present moment!

Are you guys still with me? Good.

Well needless to say, I stopped crying, but I immediately began feeling this sense of urgency as I stated earlier. No, not anxiety. Urgency, like the realization that every moment would count. I needed to make myself busy. Read my Bible even more, worship more, speak more to God, be more honest and sincere.

Now I’ve come full circle.

Which ties back into my ex. Now that I am spending my time focused on my mighty, powerful, awesome God, I have no time to feel sorry for myself and dwell on what could have been. I have grown to understand that God is a God that helps you even when you don’t even know you are in despair. I kept crying out for God to rescue me, and He would! This last time, my ex told me that he wanted to see me, but that we couldn’t be seen together because he didn’t want his friends to harm me. He said he was unsure of what they would do if I was caught with him. Y’all know that was my cue right? Carmen put his number back on block and said that’s it! I’m sick and tired of being sick and tired and I don’t wantcha! I don’t wantcha no mo! No mo! No mo Joe!

Sorry. I got lost in Katherine Jackson’s character, but y’all gotta admit that Angela did her thing on that part! Anyway, you guys get the jist.

Focus on God, your time from this moment on, and what you can do to be a better person. I look forward to telling you all more wonderful things everyday. It’s time to get it together guys! Let’s get ourselves together!

Love always

Carmen xoxo

PS- deep down I knew it! I knew he’d realize what a jerk he was, but now I can’t even imagine walking backwards…

Here’s the email:

Daily Devotional

Make A Seismic Shift
By Sharon Frame

You may not have felt it. But a monster earthquake that ravaged the South American country of Chile February of 2010 shifted your life too. It registered an 8.8 magnitude That’s mammoth!

NASA’s geophysicists say the massive jolt likely shifted the earth’s axis by about eight centimeters, and shortened our days by 1.26 microseconds. That might not seem like a lot. But in life, every second counts. Over time they add up to minutes. And like grains of sand in an hour glass, enough minutes make days, which stretch into years. Now, thanks to that quake in Chile, we are one microsecond shorter on time But way before the killer quake struck, we have been selling ourselves short by not registering the seismic shifts in our own lives. The Bible urges us to “redeem the time, or make the best use of it.” Do not waste it. (Ephesians 5:16a)

Geologically, seismic shifts occur in the earth’s crust and can cause major eruptions above ground. Practically, seismic shifts are those little changes that make a big difference in our lives. Such shifts can be negative or positive Let’s examine a case in point. What if you wanted to enjoy a rich, more joyful life? Begin by taking small, simple steps to make it happen. Start by doing a blatantly honest self assessment. Examine what needs to be fixed in your life. Face the truth about your power-draining habits. Identify the the truth about your power-draining habits. Identify the impediments that stand in your way. With that done, it’s time for another shift. impediments that stand in your way. With that done, it’s time impediments that stand in your way. With that done, it’s time for another shift.

Tackle your issues one at a time. If bad spending habits are the demons keeping you from being wealthy, commit to taking a money management class that offers practical and sustainable results The third shift is to earnestly stick with your plan of action until you conquer that weakness. I call this the FTC approach. Face. Tackle. Conquer.

Shift one: Face the problem
Shift two: Tackle the problem
Shift three: Conquer the problem

This results in positive seismic shifts. Enough of these small steps will yield monumental changes. But remember, if we want true and lasting success, it’s imperative that we factor in God. Proverbs 16:3 instructs us to: “Commit to the Lord whatever you do, and your plans will succeed.” Doing nothing also causes a shift Like the earthquake in Chile, you may not have felt the tremor. But it happened. You may not see how taking-no action hurts your chance at a better, more fulfilling life. But it does. “The sluggard craves and gets nothing, but the desires of the diligent are fully satisfied.” (Proverbs 13:4)

Like it or not, what we do everyday creates seismic shifts. They eventually trigger major eruptions. For some, personal success will break through. Others will just shift further into a life of self-defeat. With God as your guide, you’ve got a slight edge. Make it count Scripture Of The Day:  “Be very careful, then, how you live— not as unwise but as wise, making the most of every opportunity, because the days are evil.”(NIV)

I hope you all enjoyed this email because it has made an impact on me. Xoxo Carmen!

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

